News Releases/Announcements

Ad club to mark 30th anniversary with gala honoring past presidents

January 4, 2010

WATERLOO — January 4, 2010 — AAF-Cedar Valley will celebrate its 30th anniversary with a gala honoring its past presidents on Thursday, January 14, at 5:30 p.m., at the Elks Club, 407 E. Park Ave., Waterloo. The gala is free and open to the public.

Hors d’oeuvres will be served and a cash bar will be available. Speakers will include past club presidents Bob McCusker (1981-82) and Steve Corbin (1992-93), and current club president Laura Hand. There will also be a drawing for a Mad Men Season 1 DVD, Mad Men Season 2 DVD and a $25 SmartyPig gift card.

AAF-Cedar Valley is a professional development organization for marketing, advertising and design professionals and students. Anyone with an interest in advertising may join.

“The longevity of AAF-Cedar Valley speaks to the strength of its programs and the dedication of its members,” said Laura Hand, club president. “AAF-Cedar Valley events offer opportunities professionals won’t find anywhere else in the area, like learning from national experts.”

In the summer of 1980 a group of industry professionals gathered at Nino’s Restaurant in Waterloo. These business leaders reorganized the “UNI Sales and Marketing Executives Club” to become the Marketing, Advertising & Communication Professionals of Northeast Iowa (MAC).

Over the next 20 years the organization grew, and MAC became a local affiliate of the American Advertising Federation (AAF), a national organization of more than 50,000 advertising professionals. In 2008, the club changed its name to the American Advertising Federation-Cedar Valley (AAF-Cedar Valley) to reflect the affiliation.

For more information about AAF-Cedar Valley, visit

AAF–Cedar Valley is a local affiliate of the American Advertising Federation, a national organization that represents the advertising industry in its entirety. AAF–Cedar Valley works to enhance the professional development of club members, while increasing recognition for the advertising industry and giving back to the local community. For information on upcoming events or to become a member, visit


Past AAF-Cedar Valley/MAC Presidents

1980-81 Don Irwin

1981-82 Bob McCusker

1982-83 Jim Champion / Term Completed by Dee Vandeventer

1983-84 Duane Wood

1984-85 Mike Schreurs

1985-86 Rich Penn

1986-87 Joe Fox

1987-88 Diane Winkey

1988-89 Jan Payne Kilgard

1989-90 Bob Justis

1990-91 John Heidersbach

1991-92 Ann Scholl

1992-93 Steve Corbin

1993-94 Kathy Calhoun

1994-95 Tracey Cahill

1995-96 Lori McConville

1996-97 DeWayne Purdy

1997-98 Jim Miller

1998-99 Jim Coloff

1999-00 Mary Williams

2000-01 Blake Borwick

2001-02 Penny Sund

2002-03 Sara Borland

2003-04 Katie Slade

2004-05 Katie Slade

2005-06 Sarah Christopherson

2006-07 Sarah Christopherson

2007-08 Sarah Christopherson

2008-09 Laura Hand

2009-10 Laura Hand

News Archive
AAF Student Chapter Forms at UNI
The Art of Storytelling
ADDY District Luncheon
Building a Strong Digital Media Foundation
2011 Addy Awards
French Paper Company
Student ADDY Drop Off
Professional ADDY Drop Off
ReadyMade Magazine
Meet the Pros 2010
Lunch & Learn — Cannes Lions 2009 Winners